Berkeley Journalism is proud of the 2800+ students who have graduated from North Gate Hall. We celebrate the immense contributions they’ve made to the communities and organizations they serve.

A group of people dressed formally in evening attire, including members of the Berkeley Journalism community, pose for a group photo in a room with dark curtains and a large ceiling light fixture. The men and women are all smiling at the camera.

White House Correspondents’ Association scholars Negar Ajayebi (’25) and Coral Murphy Marcos (’24) attend annual dinner in Washington

May 22, 2024

Alum Coral Murphy Marcos (’24) and student Negar Ajayebi (’25) were honored by the White House Correspondents’ Association at a celebration in Washington, DC in late April. Ajayebi was awarded the White House Correspondents’ Association college scholarship in 2024 alongside journalism students from 16 colleges and universities nationwide. Murphy Marcos, who graduated from Berkeley Journalism…

Read More
Pulitzer prize

Alumni honored in 2024 Pulitzer Prizes

May 9, 2024

Six Berkeley Journalism graduates are among those honored for distinguished journalism in the 2024 Pulitzer Prizes, Columbia University announced May 6. Following a string of high honors from the nation’s top investigative reporting competitions, alum Brett Murphy (’16), a reporter on ProPublica’s national desk, won the 2023 Pulitzer Prize for Public Service. Judges noted the…

Read More
A gold silhouette of a man's profile centered inside radiating lines, with the text "PEABODY NOMINEE" below in capital letters. The design is minimalistic and elegant, emphasizing the importance of the nomination and celebrating excellence in Berkeley Journalism.

Alumni honored with 2023 Peabody Awards nominations

May 1, 2024

Five Berkeley Journalism alums are nominated for Peabody Awards, an honor that celebrates the most compelling and empowering stories released in broadcasting and streaming media in 2023. Nominees were chosen by the Peabody Awards Board of Jurors from more than 1,100 entries from television, podcasts/radio and the web. Celebrated filmmaker Violet Du Feng (’04) was…

Read More
Black and white horizontal poster with a two individuals walking at night with white buildings in the background.

Serginho Roosblad’s “Documenting Police Use of Force” to air on PBS FRONTLINE

April 30, 2024

For more than a year, filmmaker Serginho Roosblad (’18) of the AP’s Global Investigations team has followed a group of journalists from The Associated Press as they set out to document how many people in the U.S. die after police officers use restraint tactics not meant to kill — as what happened to George Floyd…

Read More
A grayscale image of an elderly man wearing glasses on the left, with a map of the eastern United States on the right. Yellow airplane icons and flight paths are superimposed across the map, reminiscent of Brett Murphy's award-winning reports on travel routes.

More awards for alum Brett Murphy’s (’16) landmark Supreme Court investigation

April 26, 2024

Following a string of high honors from the nation’s top investigative reporting competitions, alum Brett Murphy (’16), a reporter on ProPublica’s national desk, has won a 2023 George Polk Award as part of the team that revealed “secret, lavish and highly questionable gifts” that U.S. Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas has received for decades from…

Read More
A close-up of a gold medallion partially visible on the left side, with raised text reading "REPORTER." On the right, the text "2023 IRE Awards" prominently features in gold and white against a black background, celebrating Investigative Reporters. A thin white line is above and below the text.

Investigative Reporters & Editors Awards honor IRP alums, managing editor

April 11, 2024

Four alumni of our Investigative Reporting Program and its managing editor are among those honored in the 2023 Investigative Reporters and Editors (IRE) Awards. The prestigious annual contest recognizes the most outstanding watchdog journalism of the year by print, broadcast and online media. Brett Murphy (’16) is on the team of “Friends of the Court”…

Read More
A man with short hair, glasses, and a calm expression is wearing a light gray suit jacket over a white dress shirt. The plain black background highlights his professional demeanor. He is Nazmul Ahasan, recognized for his contributions to data journalism with the prestigious Sigma Award.

Nazmul Ahasan (’23) wins Sigma Award for data journalism

April 1, 2024

Recent graduate Nazmul Ahasan (’23) has won a Sigma Award, which recognizes the best data-driven projects of the past year, for “Body Count: Extrajudicial Executions in Bangladesh,” published by Netra News. The prize committee had high praise for Ahasan’s investigation: Body Count is an exceptional data journalism effort where the numbers paint a gruesome story…

Read More
A person with short, dark hair and glasses smiles slightly, wearing a patterned blouse and a chunky necklace. The backdrop is a dark, plain color, setting the perfect stage for filmmaker Carrie Lozano as she prepares to deliver her commencement keynote.

Filmmaker Carrie Lozano Named Commencement Keynote

March 26, 2024

Award-winning documentary filmmaker and media executive Carrie Lozano (’05) will speak at Berkeley Journalism’s 2024 Commencement on Saturday, May 11, at North Gate Hall in Berkeley, Calif. Lozano, an alum and former instructor of documentary filmmaking at the school, is now the president and CEO of ITVS, which co-produces independent films for PBS and produces…

Read More
A split image showcasing two black-and-white portraits of alumni. The man on the left is bald, wears glasses, and has a beard. The man on the right has short hair, is smiling, and wears an earring. Both images have a black background surrounding them.

Alumni named finalists for Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting

March 8, 2024

Two Berkeley Journalism alums are finalists for the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting, which honors the public service journalism that has made a notable impact on public policy. The Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy at Harvard Kennedy School named the eagerly anticipated finalists in an announcement Tuesday. Brian Howey (’22) is part…

Read More
Bill Whitaker and Carrie Lozano headshots

Campus honors distinguished Berkeley Journalism alums 

February 23, 2024

UC Berkeley will honor “60 Minutes” Correspondent Bill Whitaker (’78/’16) with the 2024 Alum of the Year Award and ITVS President and CEO Carrie Lozano (’05) with the Campanile Excellence in Achievement Award, campus announced today. The Berkeley Journalism alums  — both members of the school’s advisory board — will be celebrated with other Achievement…

Read More