News & Highlights

Four Berkeley Journalism Students Awarded Hearst Foundation Fellowships

Berkeley Journalism students Karla Caraballo-Torres, Alondra De La Cruz, Lorin Eleni Gill and Francesca Fenzi have been named Hearst Fellows. The fellowships, established by the Hearst Foundation in 2016, has provided $200,000 in financial aid over the past three years to 10 promising second-year students. Karla Caraballo-Torres, from Falls Church, Va. is a bilingual multimedia…
Read More

Mother’s Day column by Navy widow featured in IRP’s “Who Killed Lt. Van Dorn?” runs in The New York Times

Nicole Van Dorn’s quest for answers after the death of her husband is chronicled in the Investigative Reporting Program‘s new documentary “Who Killed Lt. Van Dorn?,” by UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism alums Zachary Stauffer (’08) and Jason Paladino (’15). In total, 18 J-School students and graduates worked on the film. We Planned a Life…
Read More

Dean Edward Wasserman Op-Ed in NYT: Julian Assange and the Woeful State of Whistle-Blowers

Opinion Julian Assange and the Woeful State of Whistle-Blowers As the media’s indispensable helpmates, don’t they deserve constitutional protection too? By Edward Wasserman Dr. Wasserman is the dean of the Graduate School of Journalism at the University of California, Berkeley. April 26, 2019 Illustration by Adam Maida; Photographs by aaaaimages and Boris Roessler/picture alliance, via Getty…
Read More

April 2019 Dean’s Letter

Dear friends of Berkeley Journalism, Our Spring Welcome visit, which gives recently admitted applicants a chance to see the School up close so they can decide if they want to come, is a powerful reminder of just how strong the appeal of journalism remains. Despite the anti-media cynicism and disparagement that they’ve grown up with,…
Read More

Dean's Letter

Latest edition of the Dean's Newsletter


Learn about admission to the J-School 


Support the J-School

Berkeley AMI

Workshops and custom training programs for career professionals

Media Services

Professional broadcast services for television and radio